TripLog Driver Training: Setting Up the TripLog App
Show Video Transcript
Show Video Transcript
Setting Up the TripLog App
Welcome to TripLog. Previously we explained how to download and log in to the TripLog app. In this video we'll look at app setup and permissions, as well as how to add your first vehicle.
Permission Setup:
The first time you log in to the app, you'll be presented with a few options to accept certain permissions; these may vary depending on your device. For this training, we'll use an Android device.
Location Permission:
Location permission is very important to make sure the app can accurately record your trips and mileage. This permission should be set to Allow all the time, with Precise Location turned on. This will ensure that even if you're recording a trip and switch apps, TripLog can keep recording the trip accurately.
Some notes on location permission: if you choose "while using" or "while using the app," the TripLog app will not have access to your location if you switch to another app or if the screen is off. Your operating system may remind you that TripLog is using your location and ask if you'd like to switch to "While Using," but remember to choose Allow all the time or Always Allow for correct operation.
Storage Access Permission:
Another required permission the app will request is access to "photos, media, and files," or some variation of this. This allows TripLog to save trips and related items on the device.
Other Permissions:
If your company opted for additional features such as expense tracking, driving safety, or other enhanced features, additional permissions may be required to operate them.
Camera Permission:
Camera access is needed if you want to capture receipts or use any of the OCR features, such as the odometer tool
Nearby Devices Permission:
Nearby devices permission is required to use car Bluetooth functionality and our hardware tracking options.
Background Tasks/Battery Optimization:
Your phone may ask you to allow the app to run in the background and to disable battery optimization. This is necessary for AutoStart to work correctly and accurately capture mileage when the app is in the background.
Troubleshooting Permissions:
If you're not sure whether a permission is correctly granted or you accidentally chose the wrong option, you can go to Menu, AutoStart, and system permissions to verify that the option is correctly selected. If there's an issue, you can click the item with a yellow or red circle and TripLog will take you to the corresponding menu on your device to authorize the correct permission, or show you the option to fix it.
How to Create a Vehicle:
To start recording mileage, you'll need to create a vehicle. Although the setup process may have created one automatically, or your company may have created one for you, we'll verify that it's set up correctly.
Go to the vehicles menu. If there's no vehicle there, you can add one by clicking the add vehicle button or the plus button to create a new vehicle. If there's one but it has a different name than you'd like, you can also edit that vehicle. You can update the year, make, and model, as well as add additional details about the vehicle. If you have multiple vehicles, you can choose the default vehicle by setting it in the vehicles menu. This will be the vehicle automatically used for manual entries. You don't need to set this if you only have one vehicle. You can also set the default activity for the vehicle if it will always be used for that specific activity. This isn't typically set, so we can leave it at No Default. If you ever switch vehicles and need to record a new one, you can create another vehicle and disable the previous one.
You're now set up and ready to record mileage. In the next video we'll look at automatic mileage tracking with AutoStart in TripLog.
App Setup
Accept the Permissions
Some permissions may appear automatically as system prompts. If you're not sure which permissions to accept, we explain them below. If you want to make sure the app is set up correctly for automatic tracking, the best option is to accept the permissions as they're offered.
Example:
Location Permission:
Allowing location permission is very important to make sure the app can accurately record your trips and mileage. This permission should be set to Allow all the time, with Precise Location turned on. This will ensure that even if you're recording a trip and switch apps, TripLog can keep recording the trip accurately.
Note about location, the GPS function, and low/no internet connection: The TripLog app uses your device's GPS antenna, Wi-Fi, or cellular connection to update the device's recording location. While speed and accuracy improve with a cellular/internet connection, a data connection is not required for the app to record mileage. As long as permissions are correctly granted and the app is open in the background, it will record trips and update addresses later. There will be a sync delay if there's no internet connection for recorded trips, until an internet connection is established. See Data Sync if you need to manually update recorded trips on the web.
You'll automatically be asked to allow location permission. Follow the steps below to see the path on Android to accept location permission.
Note on troubleshooting location permission:
If you choose "while using" or "while using the app," the TripLog app will not have access to your location if you switch to another app or if the screen is off. Your operating system may remind you that TripLog is using your location and ask if you'd like to switch to "While Using," but remember to choose Allow all the time or Always Allow for correct operation.
If you choose an AutoStart, then
Storage Access Permission
Another required permission the app will request is storage access permission. This permission is needed to store trips, expenses, and time records, as well as other related items. It may request access to photos, media, and files or some variation of that request, to allow TripLog to properly save items.
Background Tasks/Battery Usage and Optimization
Your phone may ask you to allow the app to run in the background and to disable battery optimization. This is necessary for AutoStart to work correctly and accurately capture mileage when the app is in the background.
Other Permissions
If your company opted for additional features such as expense tracking, driving safety, or other enhanced features, additional permissions may be required to operate them.
Camera Permission
Camera access is needed if you want to capture receipts or use any of the OCR features, such as the odometer tool.
Android: Go to your device's App Settings, select TripLog, then Permissions and Camera
iOS: Open an item that requests camera access, such as receipt capture
Nearby Devices Permission
Nearby devices permission is required to use car Bluetooth functionality and our hardware tracking options. This will allow those devices to connect and activate tracking.
Android: Go to your device's App Settings, select TripLog, then Permissions and Nearby Devices
iOS: Go to Device Settings > Select TripLog > Enable Bluetooth
Add a Vehicle
How to Create a Vehicle
To start recording mileage, you'll need to create a vehicle. Although the setup process may have created one automatically, or your company may have created one for you. If there's no vehicle there, you can add one by clicking the Add Vehicle button or the MORE button to create a new vehicle. If there's one but it has a different name than you'd like, you can also edit that vehicle. You can update the year, make, and model, as well as add additional details about the vehicle.
In the app (both versions) Main Menu ( ≡ three line icon ) > Show More > Vehicles
Adding a Vehicle on iOS
Default Vehicle Setting
If you have multiple vehicles, you can choose the default vehicle by setting it in the vehicles menu. This will be the vehicle automatically used for manual entries and the default for MagicTrip, as well as for the initial setup of an AutoStart. If you plan to have only one vehicle, you don't need to choose this option.
Default Business Activity
You can also set the vehicle's Default Business Activity if it will always be used for that specific activity.
This isn't typically set, so you can leave the option at No Default. Don't forget to save your changes
Disable an Old Vehicle
If you need to record mileage for a new vehicle, you'll need to add it by following the steps above. If you no longer need to record the old vehicle but might still need the records, you can disable it so it no longer appears in tracking selection, but it can still appear in reports.









