Show Video Transcript
Show Video Transcript
Intro to Trips with the TripLog App:
In our previous video, we covered some tips and best practices to make sure your TripLog app works for you. In this course, we’ll cover the basics of the app and logging your first trips.
Manual GPS Tracking
With all of our autostarts available, you’ll still have the option to override automated tracking and manually track a trip. Keep in mind that your company’s policy may not allow you to submit manually tracked or manually entered mileage without additional justification, so pay attention to your company’s policies and check with your administrator about your company’s specific policy.
When you start a manual GPS trip, the app will remind you that you have an autostart configured. Manual tracking will only start and stop when you start it through the app or the associated widgets. If you start a trip, you’ll need to remember to end it, or it will keep tracking until you do. This can cause problems with your tracking and with report accuracy, so keep that in mind. Also, in general you should avoid tracking a full day of driving as a single trip, since there are auditing tools that can flag it, given that there’s more mileage than the distance between the trip’s start and end.
Create a New Manual Entry
If you need to add a trip in the past, you can do so with the Manual Entry process. Keep in mind that your organization may not allow you to be reimbursed for trips not tracked by GPS. Check with your administrator to confirm your policy.
To start adding a manual entry, you’ll navigate to the Trips page and tap the green circular start icon, which will open the manual trip option. Select Manual Entry; the app will automatically associate the last traveled location. If you need to change that, you can add a new location or select an existing location in the Origin Location and Destination Location fields. Once both are selected, the driving distance lookup tool will recommend a distance and driving time. Click apply to confirm whether you want to accept the distance and driving time, then add any additional details in the Show More section. Keep in mind that this will update the odometer value based on the last recorded value, so if you’re adding a trip in the past, make sure to update the odometer to the correct starting value.
Recording a Trip
When a trip is being recorded, it will show a live map view if data is available. If you have poor signal and the map can’t update, don’t worry, since GPS locations are still being logged and will update once you have coverage again. There will be a red trip line indicating the active or in-progress trip. This will update once you complete the trip with autostart or stop it manually. Remember to save if you stop the trip manually and add any additional information
Viewing Trips
To review any of your trips, you can select the date in the top right by choosing the month. Trips are then sorted by day and then in ascending or descending order based on your selection in the settings menu; when you expand the day, you’ll see the available trips and can click the line between the two locations to select the trip you want to view and edit.
Editing Trips
When you click the trip to edit it, this is where you can update information related to notes, tags, and trip details. Keep in mind that, depending on your organization’s settings, you may not be able to modify some of these options. Also, if there are required fields, they must be updated on the trip edit screen. Be sure to save when you finish any edits.
Location Management
The app will automatically log the locations of your trips, and updating your locations in the app is as simple as clicking a location that was used; this can be a street address or a named address, depending on how it was previously saved
When you’re on the location edit screen, you can add a name and simply save it, and this will update all locations that were used with this address. You can choose to select a different location if you have a different location that’s already corrected for that address
Adjusting the location details will let you fine-tune locations to the correct address/street number. The location is logged based on the latitude and longitude of the stop based on the actual location. This may vary the recorded street number depending on the reverse-geocoded location; again, use caution when modifying locations, since it will modify past trips that used this location
Submitting Mileage in the TripLog App:
If your company has enabled the option to submit records for approval, you can choose those items to submit them in the Submission Menu. Under the main menu, you’ll see this option if it’s enabled. To submit your mileage, expense, or time, you’ll want to review your entries in the corresponding menu to make sure they’re correct and up to date.
Navigating to the Submission Menu:
When you open the submission menu, you’ll see there are options to filter your view of available submissions, pending approvals, or already approved items. You can submit records once you’ve reviewed them by choosing the SUBMIT button in the Not Submitted section. This will open a window to add notes for your approving supervisor or manager that will be included in the submission notification they receive. Keep in mind that once you’ve submitted your trips, any edits to submitted trips won’t be reflected since the record is locked, so make sure your notes and information are up to date before submission.
Manual GPS Tracking and Manual Entry
With all of our autostarts available, you’ll still have the option to override automated tracking and manually track a trip. Keep in mind that your company’s policy may not allow you to submit manually tracked or manually entered mileage without additional justification, so pay attention to your company’s policies and check with your administrator about your company’s specific policy.
Manual GPS Tracking
You can manually start a GPS-tracked trip by clicking the green circular start button on the Trips page. This will start a trip using GPS, but it will only stop when the red stop button is clicked. Be sure to save to log the trip.
Manual Entry
You can manually enter trip information by entering a start and end address, using the driving distance lookup feature to automatically find the distance and driving time. Then add any additional details and save. Keep in mind that manually adding a trip will mark the trip as a manual entry and indicate that autostart wasn’t used.
Submission
To submit trips for approval, your company must have the approval process configured. If that option is available to you, you can navigate to the Approval or Submission menu to select the items you want to submit. You’ll need to select the period and the type to submit. When submitting, you’ll add an optional note for your supervisor about the record. Once submitted, you’ll see the current status of any of the records.



