Skip to main content

Time Tracking Overview

Learn how to set up and use TripLog Time tracking, both in the mobile app and on the web dashboard.

TripLog Time Tracking in the TripLog App

Introducing Time Tracking

TripLog Time Tracking is a timesheet-based or project-duration-based time tracking application that lets users account for their time using either a timesheet system or a project-duration system. The interface syncs with the cloud so that users and administrators can generate reports and monitor timesheets.

With our Enterprise plan, an approval management integration is available that further streamlines timesheet approval. Available on iOS version 9.0 and Android version 4.0 or later.

Time Tracking Setup

Enable Time Tracking

Setting up time tracking is as easy as opening the menu in the app and enabling the time tracking trial for existing customers. If you're a new customer, the Time Tracking module is enabled during your trial period.

Open the Time menu in the app or on the web to enable time tracking. There may be an additional cost to use the time tracking features, depending on the TripLog plan you're currently subscribed to. See our pricing page for more information.

Choose Your Time Tracking Mode

You'll be offered a choice between Timesheet or Duration Tracking. This selection will configure how you record your time. You can change this option later in settings.

You can place the Time menu on the home screen using the options. This will take the place of Fuel on the main screen. If you disabled fuel tracking, the Time module will appear there by default.

Go to TripLog App > Main Menu (≡ three line icon) > General Settings > Time Settings > Show on Home Screen. Select Time as the primary option (you'll always be able to switch back to the Fuel option in the future)

Using Time Tracking

Adding Job Activities

You can add a Job Activity that lets the user classify the work performed with a name and an hourly rate, if applicable. Users can add Job Activities in the app, and administrators can make Job Activities available to app users from the web dashboard.

Job Activities: when entering a new Job Activity, you'll specify the name, choose a category color, an hourly rate, and a default clock-in reminder. On this edit screen, you can also disable Job Activities that are no longer needed.

Hourly Rate: this is a value that can be associated with a specific Job Activity and will automatically calculate the total cost of the time entry on the reports screen.

Clock-Out Reminder: when a user is using a Job Activity and is clocked into an active time entry, they'll be reminded that they're still clocked in on the app. This value can be modified, but the default is 8 hours.

Clocking In and Out

A user can clock in to time tracking in the app by going to the Time Tracking page and selecting the green button at the bottom of the screen.

Clock In

This will take you to a time entry screen to select the correct Job Activity, add the location, tags or notes, and click the clock-in button. This will return you to the Time Tracking screen to see the entry with a running timer.

Clock Out / Edit Time Entry

You can click the red stop button to return to the Edit Time Entry screen. From there, the End Time and Duration will be filled in automatically, and you can add additional Tags or Notes before clicking Save.

You can return to a time entry to update any field within it. You can add a Location, Tags, Notes, attach a photo, or change the Job Activity. Remember to click save to update the time entry. If you want to complete the time entry and clock out, make sure to update the end time. The duration will update based on that end time.

Adding a Manual Time Entry

You can manually create an entry if your account isn't locked. You'll be able to click the green start button and update the date, start/end time, and duration fields to manually complete a missed clock-in or other unrecorded past time.

Duration Entry

If you chose to use the duration tracking option, you'll select the Job Activity and the duration to create time blocks for the work recorded. You can still update the time entry with locations, tags, and notes, as well as attach a photo.

Web Dashboard

Time Tracking on the Web Dashboard

First, log in to your account on the TripLog web dashboard.

Calendar View

1. Choose your time view: go to the time tracking screen you want to see (Calendar View or List View).
2. Select your view: change the range displayed to Day / Week / Month
3. Add time entry: manually add a time entry
4. Filter for the view: only 1 user can be selected at a time
5. Our Enterprise plan includes an optional approval management interface for submitting and approving time entries. Note that approvals are based on the current view.

List View

A detailed view of all time entries with a search filter designed to quickly find the entry you're looking for.

Using Time Tracking

Adding Job Activities

You can add a Job Activity that lets the user classify the work performed with a Name and an Hourly Rate, if applicable. Users can add Job Activities in the app, and administrators can make Job Activities available to app users from the web dashboard.

Job Activities: when entering a new Job Activity, you'll specify the name, choose a category color, an hourly rate, and a default clock-in reminder. On this edit screen, you can also disable Job Activities that are no longer needed.

Hourly Rate: this is a value that can be associated with a specific Job Activity and will automatically calculate the total cost of the time entry on the reports screen.

Clock-Out Reminder: when a user is using a Job Activity and is clocked into an active time entry, they'll be reminded that they're still clocked in on the app. This value can be modified, but the default is 8 hours.

Time Tracking Reports

When time tracking is enabled, reports become available under Reports > Time Clock.

The time clock report will show hour totals by Job Activity. It will total the hours, as well as the hourly rate, if entered, based on the amount recorded. If no Job Activity was selected, the entry will be classified under the default Job Activity

The filter at the top lets you customize the report summary view by specific users or Job Activities.

Did this answer your question?