Skip to main content

Data Management - Purge Data

How to purge old, unused data from your TripLog account.

Purge Data

While it's convenient to have all your information in the app and on the web, this can affect performance if there's a lot of data. You may want to delete old, unused Locations, Tags, or Notes, but they're currently associated with an item.

You can purge old data from your account using the Purge Data feature.

Note: this data won't be readily available in the future, so run any reports you need for your records. Support can help you reload the backup created on your account if needed.

Data Backup Menu: TripLog App > Main Menu (three line icon ≡) > Your Plan (click the email) > Data Backup > Data Purge > Purge Old Data

Purge Data Menu

  1. Select the fiscal year

  2. Then choose what to delete

    1. Trips

    2. Fuel

    3. Expenses

    4. Mileage Rates

    5. Mileage by State

    6. Locations

  3. When you select Purge Data, a backup of the items will be created and then they'll be deleted from your device.

  4. Repeat to purge additional years

At this point you can do a Push Sync to Web to replace all the data on the web with the smaller data set from your phone.

TripLog App > Main Menu (three line icon ≡) > Your Plan (email) > Data Backup > Sync Data Between Device and Cloud > Push Data

**This will delete all data on the Web Dashboard and replace it with the data from your phone.

If you ever need to restore this data, you'll be able to access it through historical data restore in the app.

Did this answer your question?